Congratulations to the 2022 AGU Union Medal, Award, and Prize Recipients

AGU awards its highest honours for excellence in scientific research, education, communication, and outreach.

Dr. Marino Protti, Observatorio Vulcanológico y Sismológico de Costa Rica, Universidad Nacional (OVSICORI-UNA)

Costa Rica proudly celebrates the significant distinction conferred on Dr Mariano Protti Quesada by Advancing Earth and Space Science *(AGU), in recognition of Doctor Protti’s outstanding contributions and illustrious career in the field of Science.

AGU says “The honourees – scientists, leaders, educators, journalists, and communicators – have made outstanding achievements and contributions by pushing forward the frontiers of Science. Each recipient embodies our shared vision of a thriving, sustainable, and equitable future powered by discovery, innovation, and action. Those who have been honoured have worked with integrity, respect, and collaboration while creating deep engagement in education, diversity, and outreach.

*AGU is an international, nonprofit scientific association whose mission is to promote discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity.